On today’s program, Michael Tilson Thomas leads the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in works by Stravinsky and Prokofiev. He is joined by internationally acclaimed cellist, Gautier Capuçon, in Saint-Saëns’ First Cello Concerto. The program concludes with a performance of Strauss’ Death and Transfiguration conducted by Donald Runnicles.

Stravinsky Scènes de ballet
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33
Gautier Capuçon, cello
Prokofiev Suite from Romeo and Juliet
From performances in December 2016

Strauss Death and Transfiguration, Op. 24
Donald Runnicles, conductor
From performances in May 2016

This program will be available until August 1, 2020.

Program notes for this broadcast can be found here. Notes for the Strauss are here. Brian Wise is the producer for CSO radio broadcasts.

Did you know: On January 21, 1937, Sergei Prokofiev led the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in the U.S. premiere of the first suite from his ballet Romeo and Juliet. On April 1 and 2, 1904, Richard Strauss led the Orchestra in his Death and Transfiguration at the Auditorium Theatre; first music director Theodore Thomas also programmed the tone poem for the dedicatory concert in Orchestra Hall later that year on December 14, 1904.

Performer biographies
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
Gautier Capuçon, cello
Donald Runnicles, conductor

Please consider a donation to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, which helps make these programs possible. You can give here.

Visit our SoundCloud page at soundcloud.com/chicagosymphony.