Coming up in the new year, we will have concerts from the 2013-14 season’s Truth to Power festival with Jaap van Zweden and Yuja Wang, as well as Maestro Muti leading performances featuring the music of Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Bruckner. CSO soloists include Chris Martin, Robert Chen and many others. Also, be sure to tune in for our “From the Archives” special broadcast that celebrates the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s founder and first music director, Theodore Thomas.

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-01
RELEASE DATE:     January 1, 2017
“From the Archives” Special
Brahms: Academic Festival Overture (Theodore Thomas, conductor)
Wagner: Prelude and Liebstod from Tristan and Isolde (Artur Rodzinski)
Elgar: Enigma Variations (Sir Georg Solti, conductor)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben (Fritz Reiner, conductor)
Tchaikovsky: Final Waltz and Apotheosis from The Nutcracker (Morton Gould, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-02
RELEASE DATE:     January 8, 2017
Charles Dutoit conducts Falla
Ravel: Alborada del gracioso
Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain (Javier Perianes, piano)
Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Falla: The Three-Cornered Hat (Daniella Mack, mezzo-soprano)
Falla: El armor brujo from 1963 RCA (Leontyne Price, soprano; Fritz Reiner, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-03
RELEASE DATE:     January 15, 2017
Riccardo Muti conducts Tchaikovsky and Bates (REPEAT)
Bates: Anthology of Fantastic Zoology
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64
Ravel: Boléro

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-04
RELEASE DATE:      January 22, 2017
James Feddeck and Chris Martin
Frank: Les Éolides
Haydn: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat Major (Chris Martin, trumpet)
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 27
Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet (Mark Elder, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-05
RELEASE DATE:      January 29, 2017
Yo-Yo Ma plays Lalo and Saint-Saëns (REPEAT)
Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales
Debussy: Symphonic Fragments from The Martyrdom of St. Sebastian
Saint-Saëns: La muse et le poète, Op. 132 (Robert Chen, violin; Yo-Yo Ma, cello)
Lalo: Cello Concerto in D Minor (Yo-Yo Ma, cello)
Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun (Christian Macelaru, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-06
RELEASE DATE:     February 5, 2017
Charles Dutoit conducts Stravinsky
Stravinsky: Fireworks, Op. 4
Stravinsky: Symphony in C
Stravinsky: The Firebird
Bartók: Suite from The Miraculous Mandarín, Op. 19

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-07
RELEASE DATE:      February 12, 2017
Truth to Power 3 (REPEAT)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 in C Major (Leningrad) (Jaap van Zweden, conductor)
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 (Yuja Wang, piano; Sakari Oramo, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-08
RELEASE DATE:      February 19, 2017
Riccardo Muti conducts Bruckner
Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor
Bruckner: Te Deum (Erin Wall, soprano; Okka von der Damerau, mezzo-soprano; Steve Davislim, tenor; Eric Owens, bass; Chicago Symphony Chorus)
Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 72

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-09
RELEASE DATE:      February 26, 2017
Riccardo Muti and Leif Ove Andsnes (REPEAT)
Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 (Leif Ove Andsnes, piano)
Hindemith: Concert Music for Brass and String Orchestra
Prokofiev: Scythian Suite
Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-10
RELEASE DATE:     March 5, 2017
Edo de Waart conducts Beethoven
Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D Major, K. 504 (Prague)
Mozart: Horn Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, K. 447 (Daniel Gingrich, horn)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36
Bates: Alternative Energy from CSO Resound (Riccardo Muti, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-11
RELEASE DATE:     March 12, 2017
Bernard Haitink conducts Mahler 7 (REPEAT)
Mahler: Symphony No. 7
Haydn: Sinfonia concertante in B-flat Major, Hob. I:105 (Robert Chen, violin; John Sharp, cello; Eugene Izotov, oboe; David McGill, bassoon)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-12
RELEASE DATE:     March 19, 2017
Riccardo Muti conducts Brahms
Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61 (Julia Fischer, violin)
Brahms: Serenade No. 1 in D Major, Op. 11
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25 (Classical) (Riccardo Muti, conductor)

PROGRAM #:            CSO 17-13
RELEASE DATE:      March 26, 2017
Truth to Power 1 (REPEAT)
Shostakovich: Five Fragments, Op. 42
Britten: Sinfonia da requiem, Op. 20
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major Op. 100
Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements from CSO Resound (Pierre Boulez, conductor)