In today’s program, Charles Dutoit takes to the podium to explore the music of Igor Stravinsky with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. As a bonus, the program concludes with Esa-Pekka Salonen leading the CSO in a performance of Bartók’s Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin.

Stravinsky Fireworks, Op. 4

Stravinsky Symphony in C
Moderato alla breve
Larghetto concertante
Tempo guisto alla breve

Stravinsky The Firebird

From performances in May 2016.

Bartók Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19
Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor

From performances in April 2014.

This program will be available until February 6, 2020.

Program notes can be found here. Program notes for the Bartók can be found here.

Did you know: Between 1925 and 1965, Igor Stravinsky appeared with the CSO as guest conductor on numerous occasions, at Orchestra Hall, the Ravinia Festival, and the Pabst Theater in Milwaukee. Commissioned for the Orchestra’s fiftieth season, the Symphony in C premiered under the baton of the composer himself on November 7 and 8, 1940. One year later, Béla Bartók appeared with the Orchestra as soloist in his Second Piano Concerto on November 20 and 21, 1941, with second music director Frederick Stock conducting.

Performer biographies
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor

Please consider a donation to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, which helps make these programs possible. You can give here

Visit our SoundCloud page at