Visit CSO.ORG Open/Close Playlist Open/Close Menu Open/Close Search

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events


MusicNOW: Boulez’s Workshop

Harris Theater for Music and Dance Mar. 23 at 7 p.m.

De Waart Conducts Ippolito

Mar. 26 & 28: American composer Michael Ippolito drew inspiration for his Nocturne from Joan Miró’s 1940 painting of the same name.

Koh Performs Clyne

May 28 & 30: World Premiere of CSO Mead Composer-in-Residence Anna Clyne’s Violin Concerto, performed by Jennifer Koh.

MusicNOW: Myra Melford and John Zorn

Harris Theater for Music and Dance June 1 at 7 p.m.

Muti Conducts Bates

Jun. 18 – 20: Riccardo Muti leads the World Premiere of CSO Mead Composer-in-Residence Mason Bates’ new work, ‘Anthology of Fantastic Zoology’

Mason Bates on Sciarrino’s ‘Ai limiti della notte’

Salvatore Sciarrino, Ai limiti della notte (1979) Duration: 5 minutes Instrumentation: Solo Viola Premiered by Aldo Bennici on July 8, 1979, in Spoleto at Festival Due Mondi, Italy Publisher/copyright...

Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood offers advice to the classical realm

In an interview with the BBC, composer Jonny Greenwood asserts that classical music events are too formal. Greenwood, the guitarist-keyboardist for the British rock group Radiohead, believes his class...

Mason Bates remains optimistic about the future of new music

Following up on a survey it commissioned about this season&#...

About Jonny Greenwood’s Suite from ‘There Will B...

Jonny Greenwood, Suite from There Will Be Blood (2007) Dura...
John Luther Adams in 2011.  | Photo by Evan Hurd

John Luther Adams on ‘The Wind in High Places’

MusicNOW’s 2014/15 season begins Sept. 29 with a program ti...
Screenshot from a video with Justin Reed talking about his MusicNOW commission, "Hommage a Scriabin"

Justin Reed on ‘Hommage à Scriabin’

Justin Reed/Todd Clark HOMMAGE Á SCRIABIN (MusicNOW commis...
Mason Bates

Mason Bates on ‘The Rise of Exotic Computing’

MusicNOW’s 2014/15 season begins Sept. 29 with a program ti...
BATES Thumbnail

Mason Bates on ‘Carbide & Carbon’

Of this work, composer Mason Bates says, "No musical body pos...

Anna Clyne on ‘A Wonderful Day’

Anna Clyne, A Wonderful Day (2013) Duration: 5 minutes Inst...
LANG Thumbnail


The three movements of these broken wings concentrate on t...